Canada Research Chairs – Call for Two Internal Nominations

Faculty of Education at UBC (Vancouver) invites nomination proposals for two new Tier 1 SSHRC Canada Research Chairs (social sciences and humanities) through internal searches from eligible individuals – self-nomination – in any of the following academic units with full time faculty appointments (EDST, ECPS, LLED, EDCP or KIN).
Available Tier 1 CRC Chairs

  • Tier 1 CRC: Indigenous Education – Indigenous Resurgence and Engagement

The successful candidate will be a strong, innovative, and culturally-grounded researcher with demonstrated expertise in Indigenous education priorities that advance themes reflected in Indigenous resurgence and engagement that include, but are not limited to, resistance, reclamation, revitalization, and renewal with the goal of transforming practices, institutions, communities, and/or relations. The applicant will have a solid knowledge of research that involves post-colonial, decolonization, and Indigenous critical theories, pedagogies, and methodologies. It is anticipated that the successful candidate will embrace social justice, ecological, cultural, and community-oriented perspectives in approaches in Indigenous knowledges and methodologies.


  • Tier 1 CRC: Area To be Defined

Institutional Priorities

We aim to attract leading researchers to these positions to build on existing strengths in the Faculty and to expand into new areas of importance. We seek research, leadership, and mentorship that will stimulate interdisciplinary collaborations within the Faculty,

Tier 1 Chairs are tenable for seven years and are renewable once upon review by national and international peers. The successful applicant will be nominated by the Dean to the University for a Canada Research Chair and, as stated in the Terms of Reference (, and the nomination is subject to review by the CRC Secretariat.


Nomination proposals will be adjudicated by a committee chaired by the Dean and comprising Associate Deans and all of the Unit Heads and Directors. Once the nominations have been received and reviewed at the outset, the Nomination Adjudication Committee may recommend that the group be augmented by senior scholars.

Submission of Nominations

Please submit the Self Nomination proposals by noon, November 15, 2018 to the attention of Dean Blye Frank, c/o Patricia Scafe, Executive Coordinator to the Dean, via email to All proposals must take the form of a bookmarked PDF.

See the full position posting here.