History of the Faculty


The UBC Board of Governors approves Neville Scarfe as Dean of the new Faculty of Education. Over the summer the faculty increases from five to forty-two members, replacing the Provincial Normal School, a publicly funded post-secondary institute run by the Department of Education for teacher training. Registration at the new Faculty of Education for the 1956/57 school year is 905, made up of 537 elementary teacher candidates and their 332 secondary counterparts.


Report of the Royal Commission on Education (The Chant Commission) urges “the aim of having all teachers complete a degree course to be implemented as soon as possible."


On October 4, Premier W.A.C. Bennett opens the Education (later the Neville Scarfe) Building.


In September, the first doctoral students in education begin their programs.


The School of Physical Education, now the School of Kinesiology, becomes part of the Faculty.


In September, the Indian Education Resource Centre, a forerunner of the Native Indian Teacher Education Program, is established.


The Faculty begins a series of alternative models for the professional year with the Sentinel Secondary School Project and the Elementary Open Area Teaching Project.


John H.M. Andrews becomes Dean.

The Education Building is renamed Neville Scarfe in honour of the Faculty's first Dean.


The Faculty establishes the Centre for the Study of Curriculum and Instruction.


Roy Bently appointed as Dean.


Daniel R. Birch becomes Dean.


The Committee on Undergraduate Program Revisions recommends a complete revision of both the elementary and secondary programs.


In September, the first students enroll in the Ts’‘Kel graduate program for First Nations students.


Increased focus on graduate programs and research occurs with the creation of the Office of Graduate Programs and Research.


Nancy M. Sheehan becomes Dean.
The College of Teachers is established with the authority to issue and cancel certificates and to approve the Faculty’s teacher education programs.


Off-campus teacher education programs are established in Castlegar and Kamloops.


Research in the Faculty comes of age, with several major collaborative, interdisciplinary projects. Many involve partnerships with other faculties and schools on local, provincial, national, and international scales.


During UBC’s World of Opportunity fundraising campaign, two chairs and one professorship are established in the Faculty.


Robert J. Tierney becomes Dean.


The Faculty celebrates its 50th anniversary.The Faculty of Education commissioned Musqueam carvers know as Direction 7, to create a yellow cedar panal as a 50th Anniversay legacy art project, which is located in the foyer of the Scarfe Building.


Robert Tierney steps down as Dean. Jon Shapiro appointed Dean pro tem.


Blye Frank appointed Dean.


Groundbreaking for the new Ponderosa Commons building slated to open in 2015. The new building, together with the Scarfe Building, promises a home for the Faculty of Education that technologically supports today's way of learning and is physically designed to foster working collaboratively. Learn more about Ponderosa Commons.