Faculty of Education Units

We are a large and complex organization

The Faculty of Education consists of four departments, one school, academic and administrative units, and research centres and institutes.

Departments & School

Department of Curriculum and Pedagogy (EDCP)

The Department of Curriculum & Pedagogy is committed to advancing research in learning and teaching in a variety of contexts and across the lifespan.

Department of Educational & Counselling Psychology, and Special Education (ECPS)

The Department of Educational & Counselling Psychology, and Special Education is a community of scholars committed to the use and application of psychological foundations and research, and to understanding and solving human problems across the lifespan in diverse contexts, including families, communities, schools, and workplaces.

Department of Educational Studies (EDST)

The Department of Educational Studies is distinct in its concentration of graduate students relative to other Faculty of Education departments.

Department of Language and Literacy Education (LLED)

The Language and Literacy Education Department is a community of educators committed to excellence in scholarship, teaching, and professional leadership.

School of Kinesiology (KIN)

The UBC School of Kinesiology continues to move ahead, establishing itself as a leader in a discipline devoted to the comprehensive and systematic study of human movement and its relationships to physical culture and health.

Academic, Administrative & Support Units

Educational Technology Support (ETS)

The Educational Technology Support unit provides support for the design, development, and deployment of innovative teaching practices in the Faculty of Education.

Faculty of Education Dean’s Office

The Office of the Dean is responsible for overall administration and leadership of the Faculty of Education.

Office of Indigenous Education

The research of Indigenous faculty members in Education explores the full spectrum of lifelong learning, from family and community health, literacy and math, to Indigenous languages, pedagogies, and knowledge systems.

Office of Research in Education (ORE)

The ORE is a service unit with a mandate to oversee and support research activity and graduate programs in the Faculty of Education.

Professional Development & Community Engagement (PDCE)

At PDCE, faculty and the community come together to create new and exciting projects. PDCE provides quality support services for the development and delivery of online, regional, and international programs.

Teacher Education Office (TEO)

UBC’s Faculty of Education seeks lifelong learners with a commitment to personal growth and professional development. Teacher candidates are expected to be able communicators who demonstrate leadership skills and maintain involvement in the community.

Also See: